Because I am knee deep in wedding planning (eight days, 20 hours – give or take a few minutes)*, this is not going to be nearly as long as the last one. Also, there’s not as much information to impart, so there’s that, too.

I went to see my rheumatologist today – yippee –  and the consensus is that everything looks good. Of course, looks good and *is* good are two entirely different things, so seven vials of blood and one cup of pee later, I was allowed to go home. (Sorry, by the by, for the TMI, but urine tests are a big part of health checks and not just for pregnant ladies. This is Just One of Those Things.) Max, it’ll take two to three weeks to get the results back. In the mean time, keep taking those pills and keep tracking progress.

I have not had any flares since I went on the medication. This is excellent. My ankle did decide it hated me yesterday and, if I think back on it, this is pretty typical the days after I wear my skyscraper heels. It looks like my ankles may not be able to handle skyscrapers sometime in the future and CERTAINLY I’ll have to approach them with greater moderation than I used to, but I think I can handle that. And, hopefully, skyscraper heels will be something I can still indulge in with that moderation.

I have not gotten all the energy back that I wished I would, but I’m still hopeful. After a body suffers from pain and exhaustion for a long time, it takes a bit to readjust. So, now that the medication is in full swing, I can concentrate on giving my body the rest in needs so it can restore itself after a long period of exhaustion and a smaller, but still plenty long, period of pain.

My hair is doing better. No more chunks coming out, but still a LOT of strands. I’m brushing my hair a lot more regularly than I was, but brushing still freaks me out a little, so most days it’s a ponytail or a bun to cut down on the need for brushing too much. However, it is getting BEAUTIFULLY long. 😀 I’m so thrilled at how gorgeous it’s looking and I’m really hoping to keep it going long for another year or so. It’s one of the few things I’m able to keep really healthy (seriously, hair stylists compliment me on how healthy it is a LOT), so I think I’ll be keeping the long hair around for a while, just because it’s one of the few things I have a little control over and that is consistently in healthy shape.

I am having to be VERY careful about the times I do or don’t extend myself. Now that I’m more aware of the repercussions, I’m noticing repercussions I hadn’t connected before So, time and energy management is HUGE and it’s lead to some really frustrating disappointments, but I think it’s also lead to a better quality of health (which is, of course, more difficult to gauge than disappointment). I need to do better, but I really only have three months of conscious practice in health, so I’m giving myself some time to adjust to the learning curve without being super hard on myself about it all.

Clearly, it’s not perfect, but it seems to be going in the right direction. And that is a really good thing going into wedding week. One less thing to worry about as much. I’ll keep you in the loop as things occur!

*Part of me would LOVE to make a ‘progress’ post on wedding stuffs (because there is SO. MUCH. STUFF), but I want this wedding to be as much of a surprise as possible. So, I promise, I’ll show you tons of pictures POST wedding of all the leetle details.

