As you may have noticed from the tone of my blogs this year (as well as their lack of frequency), I’ve had a rough year thus far.  Hopefully, things will turn around, but there are no guarantees.  I may just be in for a rough year.  This week was ESPECIALLY so.  Like, needing to pencil in a breakdown to deal with it kind of rough.

Sigh.

And, after a really terrible week, some of my friends had terrible weeks which threw off the ENTIRE Sunday music program (for reference, I’m the congregational music coordinator).  My soloist had to drop out because her accompanist (I always want to spell that “accompianist” – I think it’s because I was raised on puns of the worst/best kind) was temporarily out of commission due to some hearing aid issues.  Then, my accompanist for the meeting had somewhere else to be and substitute accompanist was, you guessed it, the temporarily hearing aid-less young man.  This all happened within about 16 hours.

Bleh.

So, I scrambled to choose a hymn to replace the solo and to find a substitute substitute accompanist for the chapel service.  This meant that I did not, as I usually do, review the lyrics of the hymns for yesterday’s Sunday services.  I made sure to run the tunes for a refresher, but I didn’t read through all the lyrics.

Oops!

This turned out to be an embarrassing, but hilarious mistake.  The hymn preceding sacrament (communion), which is meant to set the appropriate tone of reverence and respect as we remember the sacrifice Christ made for humanity, had a line that was disturbingly and hilariously similar the post-1940 Green Lantern Oath in the second verse.  This would not be a problem if I were just another member of the congregation singing along.  Muffled giggles often go unnoticed.  Especially so during a congregational hymn when there are rowdy children visiting the congregation, as there were yesterday.  Laughter at oddly worded hymn lyrics happens all the time.  No big deal.

Meh.

Unless, of course, you’re the music coordinator for a particularly small congregation that currently lacks a chorister.  That means it is your job to not only to coordinate the music, but to wag your arm vaguely in time to the beat while no one looks at you until some other poor sap takes the job. Well, no one looks at you unless you’re making a fool of yourself, which I never do.

Hah!

So, I was up in front of the entire congregation, totally unprepared for the line: The King of Kings left worlds of light,  Became the meek and lowly One; In brightest day or darkest night, He said, “Thy will, O Lord, be done.”  Yup, there it was!  Close enough to the first line of the Green Lantern Oath that I was stuck up in front of sixty people trying to hold in the laughter that was threatening to burst forth.  I was flat for a verse and a half and anyone listening to me sing would have heard the tremor of suppressed mirth.  Also, I was blushing furiously.  More than once a congregate looked up and made eye contact in that verse and a half.

Groan.

There was nothing for it.  I screwed up.  If I had done that simple bit of reading ahead of time, I would have been more than ready for that line and not had to scramble in front of my friends and associates for a modicum of dignity.  Considering my week, I could have gotten really angry and frustrated.  Instead, I sought out the friends I knew would also be amused by the circumstances and shared in the moment as much as I could after services.  That night, I made sure to tell my roommate and laugh (when we were half-asleep, even, so it was extra hilarious).

Whee!

It hasn’t been a good week.  I don’t know that it will be a good month.  I really have no idea when things are going to get better.  BUT!  I do know that I can take these small, ridiculous moments as they come and make something good out of them to sustain me through the difficult moments.  A good laugh can heal a lot of ills.  Also, it put me in a MUCH better mood leading into my sushi night with friends.  I can make sushi now, guys!  How cool is that?!?!?

YAY!!!!!

To laughing at ourselves: nothing seems so bad when you can see the humor of it.

