. . . Seven days of torture, seven days of bitter.

I don’t actually like that song, but it’s accurate.  For the past couple weeks, actually.

Most of this week’s torture and bitter are directly due to this HORRIBLE bronchial, sinus, ear-nose-and-throat NASTY CRAP that’s been going around and in general making everyone miserable.  I still sound sick, but I no longer have sore ears and throat.  This is progress.  Now to get rid of the aches.  And the frog that has taken up residence in my throat.  (Does anyone else thing “throat” is the most annoying and weird looking word ever?  Also, “snooze.”)

I had this habit of getting a cold right on top of winter finals every year.  And by cold I mean bronchial, sinus, bilateral-ear-infection-that-made -flying-home-a-ginormous-hellscape.  I figured it was a stress thing.  And then I graduated.  And every winter the cold still came along (but at least I didn’t have to fly with it).  So maybe the timing was a stress thing.  But I just get these infections.  I almost made it out this year, but no.

Oh.  Well.

This is, of course, why the blog was delayed.  And why today’s is mostly about getting sick.

But here’s the thing – that torture and bitter?  I’ve decided I REALLY don’t care.  I mean, yeah, I could have wished for a better beginning to the year.  I could have wished for a lot of things.  But, in congruence with my New Year’s resolutions, I don’t want to spend time on what could have been.  I want to spend time on today and on my life.    It’s not easy.  The first thing I think about is, “Well, this year kinda sucks so far.”  But it doesn’t have to.  I don’t want it to.  I want it to be amazing.

Which means it’s time for me to make it so.

Also, I found a really awesome quote from author Samuel Beckett that goes along with this and my goals in general.

“Ever tried?  Ever failed?   No matter.  Try again.  Fail again.  Fail better.”

Yeah.  I can do that.

In the mean time, making my life better and all, I have a Pizza Party to go to.  Friends make everything suck less.  (NERDFIGHTERIA FOR THE WIN.)

