I don’t like to fight.

But I *do* prefer to fight and get it over with and out than sit on anger and frustration.  I think it’s a much better way to solve issues and know that the blow outs that do come after sitting on a problem are REALLY hurtful.

But, there is something to be said for more peaceful problem solving.  It’s not biting your tongue, it’s biting back bitter and introducing love into the process.

I want to ring out contention this year.  This year, I was in a situation where I had a piece of information I intended to share, but I knew that if it came out while angry or hurt, I would end up hurting people around me and cause more problems that I solved by sharing the information.  So, I worked hard to tell the right people at the most right time I could.

It was not easy.  However, my efforts were much appreciated by those who I told.  I did tell a couple people angrily and–if nothing else–it made me feel scummy and terrible.

So, this next year, another goal is to rule out strife–both with others and within myself.  I need to be better to people.  I need to be a peaceful problem solver.

I need to ring out the thousand wars and start fresh.

_________________________

The title comes from this poem.

