I love that Christmas song.  Especially when sung with Silent Night.  However, that is not what this blog post is about!

Today, I had the fun and great opportunity to introduce a song during the Christmas musical program.  The song was Dona Nobis Pacem–which is not only the title but the entirety of the lyric.  Knowing that not everyone in the audience would know what the words meant, and anxious to make sure the song reached everyone, I asked that it be introduced.  The task was thrown straight back at me.

So, last night, I sat down and thought about what I wanted to say to introduce this beautiful and VERY SHORT piece.  I didn’t want the introduction to overshadow the song and I certainly didn’t want it to be inordinately long (VERY SHORT piece).  I rambled and fumbled and practiced until I felt like the wording was right and the flow was right and the length was right.

What came out was perhaps the best thing I could say to sum up my feelings for Christmas most years, but certainly this year.  So, I thought I’d share:

When Isaiah prophesied of the Savior’s divine mission, he wrote:

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

I think it no mistake that the final honorific on that list, the last thought Isaiah wished to leave with us about the nature of the babe to be born in Bethlehem, spoke of His titular role as a bringer of peace–for that is the ultimate result of His great Atonement: a chance to live eternally with our Father in Heaven in perfect peace, at peace with ourselves and at peace with each other.  And that is why I chose this next song.  The text, dona nobis pacem, means “grant us peace.”  This is the prayer and plea I leave with you for this Christmas season: that Heavenly Father and His Son, our great Redeemer, Christ the Lord, may reach through the tumult of this imperfect world and grant unto our hearts that perfect peace.

Merry Christmas, all.  I hope you find what you want out of this beautiful season.

