We are as diff’rent as the sun and the sea.

I don’t know how many of you know that song, but it’s wonderful.  It’s one we sing in Primary (children’s Sunday School) a lot.  This is partially because it has this gorgeous Calypso rhythm that the kids enjoy and because it’s message is one worth repeating over and over.  The second verse goes:

I help you, and you help me.
We learn from problems, and we’re starting to see.
I help you, and you help me,
And that’s the way it is supposed to be.

Today is about the light of service.

When I help people, I love them better.  I love who they are and concentrate on why they are worth helping.  I don’t think about what else I could be doing or how annoying this person can be.  I think about what else I can do and, while I’m at it, who else I can help.

In return, they see that desire to serve and they love me for it.  They start to reach out.  Soon, a relationship is built.  The kind of relationship based on mutual problem solving, service, and love.

I don’t serve people to get love.  I serve them to give it.  But, as I help people, love fills my life.

And that’s the way it is supposed to be.

