Since 2009, when this blog started, I’ve been a petty, misanthropic blog hermit.

Yeah, I’m awesome.

But no more!  Doing 20 Something Bloggers Blog Swap (I told you I loved this community, partially because it’s so good for me) made me realize that I was being silly and kind of stupid.  You see, if I liked a post, I wouldn’t “like” it.  If I found a blog I enjoyed, I wouldn’t follow it.  I would wonder why something got Freshly Pressed rather than being excited that I was finding things I enjoyed reading.  I was blogging, but you could bet that I wasn’t going to be part of the community.

I have no idea why I did this.  I honestly think I was trying to preserve my corner of the internet.  Those who knew me could join me, but I sure as sure wasn’t going to invite people to my little hut in the blogosphere.  It makes no sense, especially when I grumbled about not being Freshly Pressed . . . blah blah blah.  I still don’t get how that works, how some first-time posts get chosen and some people get chosen multiple times, and some don’t, but I don’t particularly care.  I was never here for accolades, I was here to share.

I’m trying to be more active now, with follows and likes.  If you like me or follow me, I’m learning to respond in kind.  I’m learning that blogging isn’t just about me.  It’s about the community.  And, if I treat it like that, I will be rewarded beyond belief.

The days in the hermit hut of hate are over (please feel free to use and propagate that phrase).  I still have much to learn on how to be social in the blogosphere, but at least I’m out and about.

