Hello, fellow earthlings! (I have always wanted to say that! XD)  I write to you from two months ago–time travel is great so far.  No TARDIS or DeLorean in sight (I am disappointed), but I expect England is beautiful…despite the lack of TARDIS.

Okay, I don’t know that for sure.  By now the first half of Season 6 of Doctor Who has ended on a cliff hanger (CURSE YOU, MOFFAT!!!) and hype for the second half should be in full swing, regardless of the fact that it’s months away in September.  Maybe there’s a TARDIS poster on every corner.  Somehow, I doubt it.

But to answer your question, no, I am not flying as you might suspect from the title of this blog.

Today’s adventure is London and, despite the fact that this is the second post in the “FROM THE PAST” series, it is the first one I’m writing.  I wanted to save “ANTICIPATION” for the day I left, when I would be ants-in-my-pants excited (if for nothing else but a distraction).  No, instead of flying, I am in the air fulfilling the first tenth of one of my most important life goals: ride the ten largest Ferris wheels in the world.  Among the many things I am doing with DearestBex (again – yes, that is her name) today, this is the one I’m most excited about.

Since I was a child, I have had a near unhealthy fascination with two fair staples: merry-go rounds (calliopes, if you like) and Ferris wheels.  I cannot think of a more fitting description of my child-like moments than the pictures of myself that I attached to this blog.

In the first, I was 20, the second 21.  I don’t look it, do I?

Even now, moments (well, months at the moment) away from my 24th birthday, I still squeal at merry-go rounds and–as my DearestBex calls them–“big wheels.”

Clearly, I had no choice but to ride the Eye.  In fact, it is the only touristy thing I wanted to do here.  I refuse to experience England on the “American Tourist” show and tell tour.  I realize I may never get back here, but that makes tourist England appeal even less!  In 84 Charing Cross Road, Helene Hanff speaks of a man who says people find the England they are looking for.  She replies she wants to find the England of literature.  His response: a simple, “It’s there.”

I do NOT want to do that.  I have no desire to see the facade put on for tourists, nor do I want to see what I’m expecting to see.  I want to experience London.  So, DearestBex and I will do things like–well–normal people do (though I am assured by the media that there is no such thing as a normal person in London ;P).  I am determined to make it back, but even if I don’t, I will be happy with my conduct.  Or, at least, I expect to be.  I’ll let you know when I make it home!

