Recently there’s been a great deal of economy.

Economy of funds.

Economy of resources.

Economy of time.

Economy of whatever you feel like coming up with.

And while I’m all for saving the planet, being smart with my money, and not wasting anyone’s time (especially my own), there is one part of the economy movement that I refuse to take part in: the economy of movement.

As I mentioned back on January 6th, my New Year’s Resolution was to be healthier and lose weight.  I am doing incredibly well.  As of this morning, I am 33 pounds down in just  under 3 1/2 months.  It’s very exciting.

One of the things I discovered in my journey to being healthier is how little I move.  I don’t know who set up these guidelines, but the bare minimum of steps you want to take per day is 5,000.  A healthy day sits at 10,000 steps.  Above that and you’re doing great.  At my work, I’m lucky if I get 2,500 steps a day.  Yesterday, I got less than 1,000.  During the summer, the lower number will go up a little, but the upper one is unlikely to.  There will be more projects to drive me between my desk and my printer, but also more phone calls to answer.  This will keep me at my desk about as much as the printing will take me away.  So, ultimately, on a good day, I get a quarter of the steps I am supposed to in a nine hour period.  That’s over half the hours I’m awake.  The math here is not good.

This is one of the reasons I’ve come to dislike economy of movement so much.  I wait until I have to do three things at work and make them all into one trip, halving my possible steps.  An active body is a healthy body and I am wasting opportunities to be healthier.  Then, to top off the bad behavior, at lunch, I sit and read.  I’ve thought about walking, but my office shoes are hardly appropriate for a good walk and my office is right next to the highway.   Not the ideal walking area.

There are a few ways to fix this.  One is jogging in place, which actually isn’t that hard.  It’s not even jogging so much as stepping in place.  By doing that at the water cooler, while washing my hands, or even while standing and talking on the phone with a customer, I add a good one to two thousand steps per day.  Also, I can not save up all my walking to a few trips in the day.  I can be grateful for the fact that I forget pens habitually (except that it means I’m losing my mind), or that that one sheet of paper that slipped out of the stack floated three yards away instead of falling straight down.  Do some of these things take a little extra time?  Yes.  That much extra time as to be a problem?  No.  Not really.  And the benefits far outweigh the few seconds it takes me to add on the extra four steps to chase the piece of paper.

Getting healthy has felt amazing.  Staying healthy, now that’s something I’m looking forward to.  And it’ll happen step by extra step.

PS.  I like blogging twice a week.  I used to have such trouble coming up with subjects.  Now, I’m over-flowing!

