I had all these grand plans for writing about happy things less than a week ago.  I have two blogs waiting to be finished, and who knows, they might yet be.  However, I’m kind of feeling a little blue today, and it’s all because of what’s happening in the big blue.

I know, I know.  Everyone’s talking about the BP oil spill.  Everyone has an opinion on it, and a good percentage of everyone has at least one crazy conspiracy theory about it.  That’s not what I’m here to talk about.  No conspiracy theories, no grand plans to make it all better, no blame game.  The point of this post isn’t even about education–I refuse to assume the role of doomsayer or didactic teacher so every one knows just how bad this is.

Turn on the news.  You’ll get the picture.  (And let the record state that this might be the only time I recommend anyone turn on the news.  I hate the media circus.)

To be honest, I’ve been avoiding the spill.  I was so isolated out in college that I missed the entire beginnings of the spill.  I didn’t learn about it until I got home.  When I did, I knew I didn’t have the emotional stamina to follow it.  After the spill in the Great Barrier Reef weeks prior, I was used up.  My rage, my sorrow–all gone. 

Slowly, I’ve been allowing myself to read some of the news.  Just an article or two at a time.  I do care, but if I allow myself to get riled, I’ll tie myself in knots in this landlocked state.

Tuesday night I stumbled across an article about preparations for Hurricane Alex.  It included moving the barges blockading the fresh water swamps.  All of a sudden, I was involved again.  My heart is so sore, just thinking about the damage that might be done if Alex doesn’t change course.  And the safest thing for the humans is one of the most damaging things for the environment.  Ain’t it always the way.

The picture I used today was a satellite picture of the spill in May.  It’s significantly bigger now than it was then, but what struck me was the beauty of the picture.  Much like nature, man’s greatest atrocities are often the most beautiful.  Until you get close.

I guess what this blog about isn’t so much the oil spill as what it makes me feel.  It scares me, but it’s also revealed a great deal about the human experience to me.  What I’ve learned is this: our greatest danger to ourselves is the “big picture” because from there, anything can be made to look good.

So, it’s time for me to stop caring about the macro so much.  It’ll sort itself out, so long as I’m actively working on the micro.  Which I fully intend to do.

